## OFFICIAL PROCEEDINGS GARNER-HAYFIELD-VENTURA COMMUNITY SCHOOLS

The regular meeting of the Board of Directors of the Garner-Hayfield-Ventura Community School District was held on May 13, 2019, in the media center at the high school building at approximately 6:30 p.m.

Board Members Present – Larkin, Roberts, Linahon, and Watson (by phone then in person)

Board Members Absent – J. Toppin, G. Toppin, and Frank

Motion by Linahon, second by Larkin, to approve the agenda as presented. All voted in favor.

Motion by Linahon, second by Larkin, to approve the minutes of the April 8, 2019, regular meeting, the April 15, 2019, budget hearing, the April 15, 2019, special meeting, the April 18, 2019, special meeting for opening negotiations, the April 24, 2019 special meeting (closed session for negotiation strategy pursuant to Iowa Code 20.17(3), the April 29, 2019, special meeting (negotiations), the May 3, 2019, special meeting, and the May 8, 2019, special meeting, (negotiations). All voted in favor.

Motion by Larkin, second by Linahon, to approve the Secretary's Financial Reports, as well as the bill lists to be paid from the General Fund, Nutrition Fund, Flex Benefits Fund, Activity Fund, Management Fund, PPEL Fund, BASP Fund, and the House Construction Fund. All voted in favor.

Motion by Watson, second by Linahon, to approve bill list #2 to be paid from the House Construction Fund. Ayes – Roberts, Watson, Linahon. Abstain – Larkin.

Vicky Westcott and Glen Juhl reported to the board on the need for volunteers for the Garner Ambulance Service. They requested time to meet with interested students to discuss with them the opportunity to serve on the Garner Volunteer Ambulance Service.

Administrator reports were heard from James Haag, Mike Meyering, Debra Steenhard, Dianne Hinders, and Tyler Williams.

Supt. Williams presented certificates to board members in acknowledgement of School Board Recognition Month. Supt. Williams thanked the board members for their many hours of service to the district.

Motion by Larkin, second by Watson, to approve pursuing a purchase agreement to buy property in Garner for the student built house project. All voted in favor.

Motion by Linahon, second by Watson, to approve the 2019-2020 Fee Schedule

as presented. All voted in favor. Fee schedule on file in the superintendent's office.

Motion by Watson, second by Linahon, to approve the 5-Year District-Developed Service Delivery Plan as presented. All voted in favor.

Motion by Watson, second by Frank, to approve the 2019-2020 contract with GHVESA as negotiated. All voted in favor.

Motion by Linahon, second by Watson, to approve a 3.25% increase in salary to department heads and office personnel. All voted in favor.

Motion by Watson, second by Larkin, to approve a 3.25% increase in salary to principals and the curriculum coordinator. All voted in favor.

Motion by Linahon, second by Watson, to approve the following resignations:

```
Stacie LaMoore – HS Speech and Spring Play
Emily Nannenga – JH Science Teacher
```

All voted in favor.

Motion by Watson, second by Larkin, to approve the following hires:

Elizabeth May – HS Speech
Jeffry Griffin – Cardinal Caberet, 1.33% (shared position)
Jason Heitland - Cardinal Caberet, 1.33% (shared position)
Elizabeth May - Cardinal Caberet, 1.34% (shared position)
Meriel Leavy – Head Volleyball
Kelsey Edwards – JH Volleyball
Sara Fischer – 6<sup>th</sup> Grade Language Arts Teacher
Stacie Englin- from .78 FTE to 1.0 FTE, MS Teacher
Renee Weisenstein – Asst. HS Volleyball
Ryan Hinders – Head Boys Cross Country
Kaitlyn Aberson – Head Girls Cross Country
Carter Henken – Asst. Football

All voted in favor.

Motion by Linahon, second by Larkin, to award the Employee of the Month honor to Nancy Ihrke. All voted in favor.

Motion by J. Toppin, second by Frank, to table the review of the Board Policy Series 900. All voted in favor.

The board toured the student built house after adjournment and was also reminded of the upcoming graduation ceremony.

There being no further business to come before the board at this time, upon motion by Linahon, seconded by Watson, and unanimously carried, the regular meeting was adjourned by President Roberts at approximately 7:50 p.m.

Patricia A. Schmidt Board Secretary